Physical Therapy: What not to do

Last week I finally started physical therapy. This, to me, feels like a real move past healing towards actually getting back to normal. At least I hope so.  Given the way I started today, that might not be the case. Here’s a list of what not to do:

  1. Arrive early.  You don’t get any extra time and the patient before you wants their full hour.
  2. Tease your new physical therapist about his typing skills.  Its just not nice to point out that someone is doing the hunt and peck method even if it is driving you crazy.  This person’s job is to make you feel better.  Your job is not to make him feel badly.
  3. Forget to shave your legs.  Once the hunt and peck session was over I was asked to take my shoes off and roll up my pants.  It was then it occurred to me it might have been nice if I had shaved my legs.  In all honesty, it didn’t even cross my mind until the moment I was rolling up my pants.  Lets not even discuss the fact that I haven’t had a pedicure in about 6 months.
  4. Expect it to not hurt.  Mostly the pain came later.  I am thinking of it as good pain.

Those are the highlights.  I go back again this week and twice a week now for awhile.  I haven’t heard from my insurance company how many sessions they will actually cover yet.  Hopefully enough.

Leave a Reply

